Dinosaurs

 

“Dinosaurs!”

He’s awake.

“Dinosaurs!”

His first word of the morning

Every morning, I wake to…

“Dinosaurs!”

“Okay,” I mumble and roll over.

It’s too early for…

“Dinosaurs!”

“Okay.”

Stretching out of bed

A bleary eyed walk to the telly.

“Dinosaurs! Dinosaurs!”

“Okay…Okay…”

Press play

The tape whirs

He’s happy

My little Jurassic Park junky

Later…

The neighbour drops by for coffee

“Dinosaurs!”

We go shopping…

A passerby says, “hello little boy.”

“Dinosaurs!”

Drop him off at day care

Teacher says “How are you today?”

“Dinosaurs!”

He’s only two

And he’s got us pegged

We are Dinosaurs.

This poem was inspired by my sons obsession with Dinosaurs and this poem actually sums up my day at the time…he’s not so obsessed now . He’s more obsessed with playstation 3 now! I think I preferred dinosaurs.

27 thoughts on “Dinosaurs

  1. Sure Dinosaurs are better than video games! Aww it must be hard to hear that all the time, but still I think that it´s a sweet-funny thing to hear. We sometimes need to be in touch with that kind of innocence. 🙂

    Happy Rally.

    Lu Ann

  2. So cute…. It’s funny how they explore each intrest to the fullest and then they find a new obsession 🙂 mine loves his DSi and Yu gi Oh cards right now.

  3. Pingback: it is called friend « ,,’n d hEaRt isn’T unHeaRd,,

  4. I don’t know about the dinosaurs…but that kitty cat of yours just does something to me (and I’m not even a kitty fan)!

    Nicely done. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Every little boy is fascinated by dinosaurs at some point, myself included when I was younger (so that would be yesterday). I like the way it shows that when you’re around kids you can’t get a word in edgeways. Well written.

  6. Aww in love each stage of boy hood
    My son overreact with a fighter pilot game that plays best on my iPad
    He’s almost 22

  7. Pingback: it is called friend – The daRkJasmine

Leave a Reply

