Sometimes Madness

I screaming at the stars

while hell opens up below me

the gaping hole of sometimes madness

I, delicately balance on the edges

on a daily basis

 

this volcano of doubt… burns the soles of my feet

blurs my vision, licks at my heart

teasing me with lava filled taunts

the stars should know…

we look to the heavens for answers… always

don’t we?

 

the moon glows through God’s peephole in the clouds

a column of light upon the land

as the stars disappear

if he thinks I’m going he can… just… damn well forget it

I’ve got things to accomplish, children to watch grow

and somewhere inside me a …dream

it’s not always over when the lady sings her tune

sometimes it’s just the beginning

 

even against the nature of things to wither with time

 

somewhere between the column of light

and the gaping black hole… we wander

maybe on the edge of volcanoes

but blisters heal…calluses form

and the madness…well…

I take it along for the ride.

9 thoughts on “Sometimes Madness

  1. I think I’m going to say …… lovely!!! I do like to nurture my madness and take it along for the ride too.

  2. Intriguing piece… ‘Volcano of doubt’ and ‘the moon glows through God’s peephole in the clouds’- I like that.

  3. As someone once said: “You may as well enjoy it while you’re here and laugh because, no-one gets out alive.”
    Life is like a roller coaster isn’t it..full of ups and downs, just as you have captured here.

  4. Nice piece, Di. Love these lines….this volcano of doubt… burns the soles of my feet

    blurs my vision, licks at my heart

    teasing me with lava filled taunts

    the stars should know…

    we look to the heavens for answers… always

    don’t we? COOL!

  5. this volcano of doubt… burns the soles of my feet
    blurs my vision, licks at my heart
    teasing me with lava filled taunts….and the…somewhere between the column of light and the gaping black hole… we wander…and sometimes it’s so difficult to maintain balance…but i too need to feel the edge sometimes to still feel alive..love it..

Leave a Reply

