Crazy In-between Days

In between days,
when I’d do anything for you
to get close to you
I dyed my hair orange
it was supposed to be blonde and I thought
what the heck… the roadie chick said it was cool!
we traded smiles, even spoke but…alas it didn’t quite happen
the house of fun never welcomed us
to get into the groove
we just soared into our own futures
mine filled with little earthquakes… and unpublished critics

So restless we were back then…
the chance to be a happy phantom living like candles in the wind
smoking joints while walking down Toorak Road
initiating stoned aerobics on the dance floor
to how will I know…if you really love me?
never did know, I was having too much fun with my friends
cramming in taxi’s at 8am while commuters were on their way to work
my orange hair a mess, mascara smudged down my face…thinking
how on earth will we get to sleep, so we can start the afternoon shift?
and begin this crazy show all over again
somehow
we managed.

 

For dversepoets poetics

10 thoughts on “Crazy In-between Days

  1. Man- I LOVE this- just takes me back to that time when you didn’t care about having to get up for work the next day- all you card about was rocking out, ow you looked, getting wasted and getting crazy….at what point does someone come and steal this away from you- because I want it back- great poem….just took me there

  2. Sounds like some wild times. Orange hair would fit in just fine these days… or purple, green, etc. = )

  3. If this was the eighty’s I bet your orange was hot. It sounds like you had a lot of fun regardless of color mishap. Fun

  4. ha this feels a bit like college to me..a bit of a blur around the edges, some nice music references and wondering how we will ever move again tomorrow…but we did…and survived…wild times for sure…

  5. Wild Times in a red compact I almost made it to Chicago from Kalamazoo during a snow storm listening to Tori in ’94. We only made it a mile or two returning and eating at Denny’s. Your poem is too much fun!

  6. cramming in taxi’s at 8am while commuters were on their way to work
    my orange hair a mess, mascara smudged down my face…thinking
    how on earth will we get to sleep, so we can start the afternoon shift?

    This pretty much sums up my first couple of years in college… Your words took me right back there. Thanks for the memories.

  7. haha…yeah…somehow we managed…took me back on memory lane a bit…and made me thankful that i survived that crazy time without too much damage..ha

Leave a Reply

