Roars of Nevermore

 
 
I stand amid the roar
          Of a surf-tormented shore,
On seas less hideously serene.
a most stormy life- was drawn
  Now are thoughts thou shalt not banish,
      Now are visions ne’er to vanish;
I scream through night o’er the din
Dancing with apparitions of sin
  In slightly sinking, the dull tide
waves have now a redder glow
     amidst menace I breathing faint and low
        waiting
  Thrilled me- filled me with fantastic terrors never felt before;
Within unholy mists I do so clutch at my heart
Eagerly I wished the morrow;
           vainly I had sought to borrow
But evil things, in robes of sorrow
Play ever bitter – to a discordant melody,
       While, like a ghastly rapid river,
         Through the pale door
And my soul from out that shadow
            lies floating on the floor
                Shall be lifted-
                         nevermore!

A cento from poems by Edgar Allen Poe for Dversepoets form for all

Raven, A Dream Within A Dream, The City in The Sea, The Haunted Palace, Spirits of the Dead

12 thoughts on “Roars of Nevermore

  1. ah excellent choice…i love poe….and love the bit on the heart racing…its gets mine a going as well…the waves roar…ha…you spun this nicely….and even gave a bit of his menacing as well…smiles.

  2. Well done! You preserve not only the rhyme, but also the meter and musicality of a Poe work. That’s not an easy feat to pull off, especially doing it with disparate sources from his oeuvre.

  3. You did such a marvelous job with this. It’s slightly eerie, mysterious and full of pain. I think Poe would really like this, because it captures his essence.

Leave a Reply

