Unmoored

 

We walked along the deck toward the restaurant

Seafood was on our menu

 

Salt spray tainted the air

boats gently rocked, nudging each other

tinkling murmurs of escape

hatching under the moonlight

 

diners dotted the wharf

unaware of the rising tide

simmering in a pan out back

in the kitchen they were casting spells

 

we perused the morsels on offer

it came in a wave, unfurled around me

an invisible seduction

evil temptation wafted

seizing my senses

 

my knees weakened

desire overtook me

I was Eve confronted by the shiny red apple

craving the reward it offered

 

 

“Creamy garlic prawns,” she said.

 

oh I felt the torture of the aroma

the rumblings deep – I was transformed

breaking free from the anchors

tasting the sensation

unmoored, adrift, lost

gone

 

For dversepoets poetics foodloose

11 thoughts on “Unmoored

  1. Oooo… food is deliciously seductive isn’t it! The manufacturers of chocolate know it too! I don’t like sea food if it smells fishy…haha… I DO love a fresh prawn cocktail with the sauce on it, do like battered cod from a fish & chip shop though. But you made this sound quite delectable. My mouth is watering too and I haven’t even had a sip of my first cuppa tea 🙂

  2. I was enraptured by:-
    diners dotted the wharf

    unaware of the rising tide

    simmering in a pan out back

    in the kitchen they were casting spells

    Love the depth and the ambiguities –so many ways to go with it. A really captivating piece.

  3. Is there anything better than seafood? I loved the “casting spells” in the kitchen. It really is a magical talent, being a good chef. Now I feel like sneaking downstairs and picking out a cold shrimp from the leftover Chinese!! Loved it, and thx for your support during Computer Hell Days… peace, Amy

Leave a Reply

