A New Leaf

You came to my door
when the rain cried tears outside

dripping

as if you’d risen from the depths of the ocean
an octopus, who suckers me in
holding me tight, squeezing out my
not this time buddy!

You standing there, on my front porch
like a puppy without a home
holding flowers
that sagged under the weight of drops

forever landing
time after time – repeating
patterns of deceit
crisscrossing your unfulfilled promise
with your clever loopholes

well…
rain turns dirt into mud
and I am sick of cleaning my boots
so…

you’re gonna have to do better than that… Mr Wallow in your own muddy puddle
mine is clear, your ripple has smoothed
and I look forward to turning the soil

for dversepoets meeting the bar (second person)

15 thoughts on “A New Leaf

  1. as if you’d risen from the depths of the ocean
    an octopus, who suckers me in
    holding me tight, squeezing out my
    not this time buddy!…snap, love your word play in that section….and dang what a story as well…al too common i imagine….really like your voice in this…smiles.

  2. Oh yes indeed. I get like that over snow here… I just finish washing the floors, the dog comes in from peeing… and off we go again. lol Never ending job, it’s either mopping up a snow trail or mown grass, both are a pain in the proverbial.
    This made me smile though!. You tell it! 😉

  3. So good, Di. Why does it seem so many of us have to experience these kind of creeps in our lives. I only had one and I had to be strong–as you’ve narrated so well. Such a learning experience. I love your metaphor…mud, indeed.

  4. …strong voice and a wonderful offering… your starting lines are fantastic and glad you maintained it t’wards the end… smiles…

Leave a Reply

