My Hovercraft is Full of Eels

On our first date he said,

“I’m going to marry you.”

Stunned I said, “you don’t even know me.”

“No, but I will marry you.”

No, “ tha gaol agam ort” (i love you)

Of course how would he know

He didn’t know me, I didn’t know him

No one had said this to me before…

Well not in such a matter of fact way

It was like a foreign language

He may well have said, “ tha mo bhata foluaimein loma-la`n easgannan” (my hovercraft is full of eels)

the what on earth do you mean

reaction would have been the same

it gets lost in translation

do we ever really know what someone means

when they say… “I’m going to marry you” on the first date…

ha… the aged old ploy before he says

“bidh me g`adfhaicinn”   (i’ll be seeing you)

Funny thing …although I didn’t know it at the time

He was right

and now

ironically

“ tha mo dachaigh loma-la`n easgannan” (my home is full of eels)

Supporters that is…

 

 

 

For dverse poetics- Foreign Tongues

I used Scottish Gaelic for the language…and my husband and two sons are fanatical Parramatta Eels supporters (rugby league).

21 thoughts on “My Hovercraft is Full of Eels

  1. lupDujHomwIj lubuy’moH gharghmey….hahaha…so that is where that originated…my hovercraft is full of eels…some fun little insights in this as well…smiles…you know when i first saw my wife i told my buddy i was going to marry her and i had yet to even meet her….crazy…smiles….very cool…

    • Thanks Brian, it’s funny how things work out and that you just know who will be the one…it’s a little crazy…romantic crazy. My hovercraft is full of eels originates from a Monty Python sketch (I think)… it just happened to be a phrase on the Scottish Gaelic site…so I went with it. 🙂

  2. Excellent. First Gaelic of the night. Love it. You know, I’m big on titles and this one gets title of the night so far, very creative. Funny story, My great grandfather had money and went on a round the world cruise when he was 18 years old. My great grandmother to be, also came from a family of money and happened to be on the same cruise. My great grandfather met my great grandmother to be out on the deck that first night at sea. After 15 minutes of knowing her, he knew, so he foolishly proposed. After five minutes of mulling it over, my great grandmother to be foolishly accepted. Three days later they were still in love and hit port, departed the cruise, flew back to NY and began wedding preparations. However, both families disagreed and therefore, My great Granparents both came from very wealthy backgrounds individually, but once married they grew poor in love, and were richer for it. My great grandfather was 50% scottish as well, just for another tie in here. Thanks for bringing that memory back to surface. Great write. Glad you shared it tonight.

  3. …just sweet… the way you delivered it…the humour…the transition of language… the setting…everything was perfect…aww…i think by far this is my favorite offering at the pub for this particular segment of poetics… Your work is not pretentious and just flows quite simple & humble to read…excellent…thank you…smiles…

  4. Wow, amazing how what he said came true. He really had a gut feeling, and he was right. I love the humor with which you wrote this poem as well. Wonderful write.

  5. Straight from the Monty Python Hungarian-English phrasebook, translated via the Portuguese! You had me right from the title. Gaelic is a lovely language – I only wish I could speak any of it.

  6. This is delightful. Ironic, isn’t it, how even when we know the language, we can misunderstand what is said. Even more so with the faintly familiar. Gaelic…not in my realm of experience, outside of Robert Burns. Really enjoyed this piece, its intimacy and humor.

Leave a Reply

