Mouse Eyes

“Look what you made me do…It’s all your fault…I hate you!” I screamed

as I ran crying to my bedroom

my sister and her friend laughing

the mouse I had desperately tried to save

Dying…

I’d stepped on it,

trying to stop my sister and her friend from catching it

Ha!

I thought they were going to hurt it.

 

I carry that little mouse

his apparition tucked in my pocket

he appears so quickly…a bang of a vision

Whack!!

I flinch

while eyes water

a drop of a tear

stains

even now…

 

bloody mouse

bloody clod hopping feet

bloody sister

 

he stares at me through the eyes

of every pet

I’ve ever owned

those all knowing, gentle brown eyes

non judgemental

trusting

vulnerable…

 

bloody mouse!

 

 

Meeting the Bar- dverse

11 thoughts on “Mouse Eyes

  1. Oh, this is so very, very sad. I understand how you would carry this memory to this day, how you would continue to see this little mouse in every other pet. Truly this poem breaks my heart. Poor little thing. Poor you.

  2. he stares at me through the eyes of every pet…what a hard moment too…like taking your first life and the hollow feel it gives, even when you did not intend too…its def a sad one…

  3. Sometimes, in our zeal to help, we end up smooshing the very thing we are trying to save. Well done, especially using the mouse’s eyes as windows to a wider experience.

Leave a Reply

