What a marvellous night for a raindance

Splish splosh la dee da dee, splish, splosh la dee da dee

“ah excuse me Sir…” Splish, splosh la dee da dee

“I ah…was looking for…” Splish splosh la dee da dee

I’m singin in the rain…  “ah yes I can see…but”

Just singin in the rain… “I need direc…”

What a glorious feelin…I’m happy again

“terrific but…no no I can’t dance…well okay but…”

I’m laughing at clouds… “funny aren’t they…ha I haven’t tap danced since…okay”

So dark up above… “yeah it’s pretty black”

The sun’s in my heart and I’m ready for love…  “oh dear yes you’re very nice but…ha”

Let stormy clouds chase… everyone from the place da… da… da…  “that’s what I want sunshine but hey I’m lost”

I’ve a smile on my face… “lucky you…you’ve got an umbrella”

I walk down the lane…  “hey not too fast mate”

With a happy refrain…  “yeah I know…just singin, singin in the rain”

Splish, splosh la dee da dee, splish, splosh la dee da dee

Dancin in the rain… “oh no here we go again…”

I’m happy again… “yeah I’m dizzy!”

Just singin and dancing in the rain

Splish, splosh la dee da dee, Splish splosh la dee da dee

Splish, splosh la dee da dee…

“phew”

So what was the problem?

“oh I forgot…just singing and dancing in the rain.”

Better get yourself an umbrella then…it’s on all night

“thanks a bunch!”

Splish, splosh la dee da dee… splish, splosh la dee  da dee

Splish!

singin in the rain

 

 

 

 

 

Painting by Dianne Turner

This is my offering for dversepoets I hope  that it makes sense. Growing up I used to feign illness so I could stay home from school and watch old midday movies. I loved it…I had a number of favourites but Singing In the Rain I just adored and still do. So much so I even painted a scene a while back for the fun!

Anyway for some reason it popped into my head when I found out what the prompt was today… so again I had some fun!

Oh and used some of the lyrics for conversation!

And anyone who wants to sing in the rain again here’s the you tube clip  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rmCpOKtN8ME

18 thoughts on “What a marvellous night for a raindance

  1. how very cool…a little singing and dancing in the rain with gene kelly doesn’t sound bad at all….ha…i’m humming along…smiles…very cool painting as well…

  2. haha….what a fun interaction…and you caught him in the middle of song…and dance…best in those moments just to play along..imagine his attitude was contageous as well…with that much joy its got to be you know….try not to get too wet…smiles.

  3. …what fun Dianne… i just enjoyed the sounds you create… when it rains & don’t have any umbrella to use… look for a shed… if there is none then just enjoy the rain.. we have rains too currently dominating our place and i’m enjoying it with a cup of hot tea… smiles…

Leave a Reply

