Splinters

You may feel me gone

slivers of distance

in speech

 

Yes, you may well feel me gone

a ghost giving lip service

in vague whispers

 

and if you haven’t felt me gone

you may wake to find

the last splinter

upon my pillow

 

a tiny annoying barb

cushioned the way it had always been in my soul

until I removed

the nasty little sucker

 

now you’ll know I’ve gone

and the phantom pain

will linger

for quite some time

maybe for both of us

but I suspect only one

will feel any real depth

 

for dverse poets meeting the bar: Conceit.

12 thoughts on “Splinters

  1. Slivers of distance in speech, a ghost giving lip service, the last splinter upon my pillow: this is painful poetry (or painful subject portrayed in poetry) with consummate poise and control.

Leave a Reply

