HeartAway

phone pics 112

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sand shaped by the tide smiles in the shallows

just before the drop off into the murky depths

I wade through to the edge

many times I’ve dived into that darkness

loving the fear of what may lay beneath

today I play it safe with the silver whiting

flitting, flicking, swishing in the lighter waters

I still love this place for pressing its beauty

into my dark tainted heart – it has the power

in subtle gestures of patience it waits for me to see it once more

pelicans roosting on the lampposts across the bridge

corellas squabbling in the trees

dolphins dipping in and out of the water

or a turtle bobbing up for air

I hearten to its magic

it pulled me in, it was home

a gentle smile of land on which to rest

I will hate to leave when the time comes

when the tide of me pulls away

from these mangrove lined shores

and I fall upon another beach

a driftwood wanderer and son

searching for another gentle smile

phone pics 151

 

 

 

 

for dverse poets openlink

8 thoughts on “HeartAway

  1. nice….i hate it when the tide of me pulls away as well…
    i am learning to like staying after years of moving
    island to island but the pull of the new and exciting is def there underneath…

  2. There definitely is something very heartening and refreshing and reflective about being at the shore. It does have ‘the power’ and ‘the magic’ and pulls at one’s heart in a special sort of way!

  3. Just returned from South Padre Island so I enjoyed re-living the shore experience in your poem! Love to see the birds and dolphins…the last 6 lines are exceptionally fine.

  4. Di – I loved this and my favourite lines – I still love this place for pressing its beauty

    into my dark tainted heart – it has the power

    I would love to live by the water, it is where I am comfortable and more at peace with myself. Holidays and the realisation we must return home… that is one major tide pulling at us.

  5. it sounds like a beautiful place to be and yet… there’s so much more to discover… i always have a bit of this restlessness in me… vagabond heart a bit maybe…smiles

Leave a Reply

