Dead Letters

 

I’d like to write you a letter

but you’d never understand

my pain for the love stolen so callously

for the good memories I have that didn’t really happen

in the way I remember

 

I’d write you a letter

only my words would be captured prisoners

utterances left imprinted on a page

merely apparitions of breath

to be snuffed out by an angry heart

 

I’d write you a letter

if I felt it would help to ease my grief

of each loss that has compounded

been torn away from me

by your actions and words

spelled out purposefully

to cause fear

 

I’d write you a letter

but they’d serve as a key of re-entry

to a stranger known so long whom I loved

and can’t afford to love again

 

So I won’t write you a letter

instead I cast my words to the bitter wind

where they fly like kites

to be rewritten in strings

and grabbed by someone who knows

how it feels to be held hostage by their own words

together we’ll unravel faulty structures

create new sentences

and bond together an understanding

 

 

For dverse meeting the bar: When words fail

 

 

11 thoughts on “Dead Letters

  1. for the first part of this, i was thinking that it was someone that betrayed you in a relationship…and in that circumstances there are no words and sometimes it is just best to let that conversation die…the last 3 lines changed that for me…the coming together to forge new lines…and sometimes too maybe that is better than rehashing the past…if we can live beyond it…

  2. I love that ending ~ Casting it to the wind where they will fly as kites to be rewritten anew ~ Its hard to be hostage to words and not expressed fully what’s on our mind ~

  3. There’s a sadness in your words but I felt you ended with a hope for better times and that fits well with the confusion over finding and putting your words out there, so very well done, I found much in this that I could relate to.

  4. I REALLY know what you mean here. I have had similar experiences in my life…when I wanted so badly to write a letter to someone who had gone out of my life, but knew in my heart that it wouldn’t help anyway. So though it was painful NOT to write that letter, I knew it would be more painful to write it and receive no response. Your last stanza was beautifully phrased, by the way.

    I really like

    ” instead I cast my words to the bitter wind
    where they fly like kites
    to be rewritten in strings “

  5. I love the part where the “words fly like kites to be rewritten in strings…grabbed by someone who knows what it’s like to be held hostage by their own words”. Excellent imagery, excellent.

  6. I love the imagery here as well…the wistful tone and pain that goes with. I just wonder if some words were necessary, though, at the time, however bitter, and may have been for the better…good to let go of nevertheless 😉

Leave a Reply

