Conversation with an Artist while lost in a Shell

IMG_3480

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Conversation with an Artist while lost in a Shell

I walk over

               the stories of shells

sharp splinter words

       echo inside each tiny vessel

a thousand lives lived

           before they finally washed up on these shores

 

in each one a shipwreck of sorts… stolen treasures

       but not the gold you’d think

priceless just the same

       even the particle memories of a hermit

who’d travelled far but then not far enough painting his rust bucket dreams

     on discarded war machines

 

“You’re gonna isolate yourself…that’s what you’re going to do,” she said

       her emphatic tone grazing my ears like waves cutting rock

           “Maybe?” I said, but my decisions are not sliced thinly and sandwiched perfectly

                     between two slices of bread

they’re chopped up and thrown in a soup

                     each spoonful a mystery on the tongue

                                

So I press my story

     with each crunch

trying to feel splinters that will echo

                       within me

 

“Sometimes he makes things happen”

“I guess…”

I’m not very religious

               but I believe in spirit

even the spirit of shells whatever form they come in

            

                         On abundant shores it’s easy to be a hermit

a story can isolate you

        while lost in a shell formed by elements beyond your control

 

but the spirit

               finds a way of escaping

a murmur into the ear when you hold it close

 

I select shells

     picking each one for its unique character

imprinted on it by the sea

       some broken, edges smoothed over

where it was once pummelled by the surf

                                 I’ll link a necklace of stories

       connecting the seemingly unconnectable

 

“Someone’s been looking over me,” I say

I laugh but know I wear potato sack sadness wishing for the slice of Italy hanging in the window

                    I try to hide it within

“Funny isn’t it, how he works – bad then good.”

        he could be right

     some things do appear to be…

                                                     Miraculous!

 

we’re all shells that have been broken by clumsy feet

       that know no other direction

“just keep painting through the move…it will keep you in tune,” he says

        “I’ll try,” I say

he gives me a “Welcome” gift…

   Funny

I bought silver keys

     maybe I’ll link them with shells

unlock a story I can wear

                 there’s bound to be some gold in this shipwreck

 

 

For dverse Meeting the Bar  

 

7 thoughts on “Conversation with an Artist while lost in a Shell

  1. we’re all shells that have been broken by clumsy feet

    that know no other direction….ha truth there…and there is plenty
    to explore on a shipwreck you know…never know what you might make useful…
    smiles.

  2. while lost in a shell formed by elements beyond your control
    but the spirit finds a way of escaping

    Elements beyond control is a wonderful thing. Creates lots of interesting episodes as it escapes. Wonderful write Di!

    Hank

  3. there are treasures beyond our understanding in those shipwrecks of life… we just have to dive a bit to find them… sometimes it needs humility…my fav part…potato sack sadness wishing for the slice of Italy hanging in the window

Leave a Reply

