Impressions

I walked along the beach
through the silent
statue of a day
my footsteps muffled

suddenly a faint drop
followed by another
barely audible rain
softly exploding miniscule drops
upon my skin

I felt alive within a still life
like the moment earlier when a butterfly
danced in to say hello
fluttering a mere smidgen away from my eyes
before darting back
into the wilds of my backyard

momentous
and not so
an impression
flicked upon the day
that will just move on into the next
and I hold my breath

Leave a Reply

